## CHAPTER X.

The Exchequer Court 688. The Exchequer Court, presided over by a separate Judge, who must reside in, or within five miles of Ottawa, possesses exclusive original jurisdiction in all cases in which demand is made, or relief sought, in respect of any suit or action of the Court of Exchequer on its revenue side, against the Crown or any of its officers. This court also possesses concurrent original jurisdiction in all cases in which it is sought to enforce any law relating to the revenue. The court may sit at any time and at any place in Canada.

The Superior Courts.

689. The Superior Courts of the several Provinces are constituted as follow: Ontario-The Supreme Court of Judicature, composed of the Chief Justice of Ontario and three Justices of Appeal, and the High Court of Justice, divided into three divisions, having concurrent jurisdiction, viz. : the Queen's Bench and Common Pleas Divisions, each presided over by a Chief Justice and two Judges, and the Chancery Division, presided over by a Chancellor and three Judges. Quebec-The Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench and five puisné Judges, and the Chief Justice of the Superior Court, and twenty-six puisné Judges, whose residences are fixed in various parts of the Province. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick—The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Judge in Equity, and five and four puisné Judges respectively. Manitoba-The Chief Justice and three puisné Judges. British Columbia-The Chief Justice and four puisné Judges. Prince Edward Island -The Chief Justice and two assistant Judges. In the North-West Territories there are five puisné Judges of the Supreme Court. There are also Vice-Admiralty Courts in Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, and a Maritime Court in Ontario.

County Courts. 690. There are also County Courts, with variously limited jurisdiction, in all the Provinces, but not in the North-West Territories. Police Magistrates and Justices of the Peace, of

Magistrates.